Oh So Many Years

Support this blog by using my Amazon.com link

Sad that I was not able to attend Andee and Steve’s  50th wedding anniversary.  After I was sent a post from Bill Northgraves showing that some of my cousins did a impromptu jamming I decided that I wanted to be part of that, even after the actual event.

October Family Reunion

New Boston, NH

Most of my songs deal with the dark side of the human condition. I know all the murder ballads and songs of mining disasters. I did find a couple that are passable for love songs, but even the classic You Are My Sunshine has a dark stanza:

“You told me once, dear, you really loved me
And no one else could come between.
But now you’ve left me and love another;
You have shattered all of my dreams:”

What do you sing to a couple that has been married 50 years? I chose a Bailes Brother’s song Oh So Many Years  that was written in 1949. The lyrics are bittersweet but approximate a love song, with nary a mine disaster or murder.

I have another one to share, one that is a favorite of my 2 year old grand-nephew. It is a love ballad  written by Blaze Foley which mentions the moon (how romantic is that?).

In an ideal world I would have accompaniment on these tunes with folks singing harmony and taking elaborate breaks. Maybe we can do that on the 75th?

7 thoughts on “Oh So Many Years

  1. Oh JOHN, I missed you at every turn at the wonderful party the kids whipped up for Steve and me. I trust that Ginny has improved….give her our love, and we missed her too. Trust that Deedee’s wonderful missives give you both a feeling of how it all went down. Just so special….we are blessed and humbled by it all.

    Can’t wait til the 75th, for all sorts of REASONS, you silly! Stay in touch and stay YOUNG!

    Our own serenades too, from you. LOVE YOU!

    Eeds and Evets

    Can’t seem to figure out how to hear your songs, or was that the point?? Will ask Steve for help tomorrow….he has already hit the hay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

