Remembering Babcia

Support this blog by using my Amazon.com link

Emilia Kowaleski was born 132 years ago. She emigrated  to America at the age of 13. She brought over only one brother (Nikodem) while others (total of 5 brothers and 2 sisters) remained in Poland with mother and father. After suffering a stroke she lost her ability to speak and eventually reverted to speaking only in Polish with just a few words in English.  She would always exhort us to “Eat” during the holidays,  probably remembering raising her eight children through the depression.

Learning from the master

I learned about gardening from my Grandmother. I still have some cuttings from some of her Epiphyllum Cacti. She was showing me her roses in this photo.

EmiliaPoltrackSeated-19060506

Emilia is seated on her wedding day – May 6, 1906

Mother's Day

Emilia on Porch at Fourth Street in Stamford

Grandma frying onions

Grandma frying onions. She made the best soup. This was a gas stove that you lit with matches. I lit it a few times, quite exciting.

If a tree falls - 1934

If a tree falls at Willow Court – 1939

Wedding Photo

Emilia Kowaleski and Anthony R Poltrack – Wedding Day – May 6, 1906

Emilia's obit

8 thoughts on “Remembering Babcia

  1. How I loved our Babcia. When I was about young, I tried desperately to learn Polish so I could communicate better with her, but it’s a tough language!! Rest in Peace, dear soul

    Like

  2. A few questions…1977, Tony in Darien and Henry, Greenwich?? Was that just misinformation? And you say she emigrated at 13, but I do think it was 19-20. If she died at 91, that means born 1886, and I think the census arrival was 1906? And the obit says 21 yrs in Stamford…adds up. These pictures and stories brought back a flood of memories. And I love that you still have some cacti from her garden! What a beautiful woman.

    Like

Leave a Reply

