Happy Mother’s Day – Living at 50 Horan Avenue

Shop Amazon Gift Cards. Any Occasion. No Expiration.

John and Mom

After WWII housing was in short supply for the returning veterans. We lived in Veterans Housing in Stamford, CT. The homes were very simple and utilitarian, something you would expect from government housing.

They were all the same just with different colors. They had two bedrooms, a shower (no tub, we bathed in the deep kitchen sink), a kitchen, living room and a utility closet. These homes had central heat, at first a coal stove in the Living room which was later converted to kerosene (I know that smell). There was no basement just a scary place beneath the house. There was no modern septic design, the homes had cesspools, basically a deep hole covered with a large piece of slate. Thankfully we had town water.

I loved the place. The neighborhood was filled with kids all the same age. We were the boomer generation, children of the returning GIs

We had a large yard and behind our house was an undeveloped area of just woods and trees, a great place to explore.

50 Horan Avenue

I had the bedroom with the double windows on the left. By 1952 I was sharing that with my two sisters. The entire neighborhood was razed in the late 1950s to build what was Rippowam High School. I’m sorry that the street names were lost, they came from the name of GIs killed in the war. I have great memories of all of this. Happy Mother’s Day Mom!

6 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day – Living at 50 Horan Avenue

  1. Hello John:
    I wonder if you remember me. I used to live at 167 Loveland Road (originally #56) and went to school with you. I was doing some random association surfing and wondered if I could find anything about the veterans development where I first lived.
    Do you remember in the second grade moving from the old Willard school to the new, modern Newfield school? I remember you lived in the yellow house at the top of the hill on the corner where Loveland Road was extended into that newer area. On the other side was a green house where my friend Margaret Semple lived. I was in the white house on the left as you went around the corner and downhill on Loveland. The Kennedys lived across from me. Remember Danny and Kevin? And there were the Farrells who eventually had 10 kids (or more). The Peets who lived next to me had two girls: Debbie and Beverly. The O’Learys across the street: Bobby and Gary. And the Connors’s: Fergie and a younger brother. Fergie was killed in ‘Nam. And I remember your family’s bicycle store in Stamford near the bottom of Greenwood Hill.
    About the kerosene stoves: I think our house was the only one where there wasn’t a line run from the 55-gallon kerosene drum into the stove. To the last day I had to go out and stand on the back steps in the cold and draw of gallon jugs and bring them in and fill the tank on the back of the stove.

    I’m a long ways from CT now. After college in West Virginia and a tour in the Army (which included ‘Nam) I came back to CT wand worked there until last year when I packed up and moved to the Idaho panhandle. I’m in the little town of Hayden which is just to the north of Coeur d’Alene. This area is beautiful and a lot less expensive than CT.

    Thanks for the memory jolt.

    Richard Biggar
    1073 W Woodlawn Dr
    Hayden, ID 83835-8852

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m terrible with names. I lived across from the Deluski (sp?) boys. They were older than I was but I was good friends with Andy. I do remember the move to Newfield. We used to walk to school. I guess I’ll need to dig through the photos a bit and add a new posting. Thanks so much for the response. I ended up in the Navy and was on a carrier to the South China Sea. Ironic that all our dads were Vets in CT and many of us timed it just right for Vietnam. I now live in New Ipswich, NH.

      Like

Leave a Reply

